Lantus Vs Tresiba: Which is the Better Long Acting Insulin?



LantusReviews

people have reviewed this drug
3.5 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
1 Stars
Posted 149 months ago (6/22/2006)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

Lantus yes or no? Hi I was moved to lantus from Humalin I at the beginning of May 2006 and since then my blood sugars have been worse, my HBa1c is worse, I'm suffering a lot of headaches, no energy, tiredness and I have gained 10lbs in weight. I myself did not feel that I needed to change insulin, however the hospital have been pushing me (and no doubt all patients) to move to lantus for about 3 years. Is it really a better insulin, is it really better for diabetic health or is it just money making?

Report
4 Stars
Posted 150 months ago (5/30/2006)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IIReport

Mood swings I have been having the worst mood swings. I am 24 years old and have been on Lantus for about 2 weeks, and diabetic for a little over a year. I am not sure if the medication is responsable for the mood swings but i do know that I feel like a hormonal teenager. I am happy for a little, then angry then sad. It is driving me crazy. It takes me hours to really wake up and therefore feel foggy headed during the first part of my day. I am frustrated and would like to know if it is the medication.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 151 months ago (4/8/2006)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

i've discontined I’ve started using it in January, 2006. The doctor forced me saying it requires only 1 injection a day and my sugar level would be steadier. Though being 5 years on NPH I’ve never had serious problems with compensation. For more than 2 months on Lantus I’ve been trying to find the dose I needed. One week it was 10. Another it was 6. Constantly changing and impossible to define. So now I’m back on NPH and the sugar level is again ideal. As for the side effect, every day on Luntus I had a slight kidney pain in the morning. I could never think it was due to Luntus. But starting NPH again I don’t have it anymore.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 152 months ago (3/28/2006)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

FANTASTIC!!!! It is THE BEST insulin ever!! I have no regrets about starting this therapy and would recommend it to anyone else that is Type 1.

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 152 months ago (3/17/2006)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

lantus insulin ive found lantus to not benifit me as my diabetes hasnt changed & now im on tablets to help my kidneys since & my eyes have had problems ive been having laser to my eyes every week for 6months all my complications started after starting to take lantus insulin

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 154 months ago (1/20/2006)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

NOT a Lantus fan After 42 years of being on insulin, I can say without a doubt that Lantus is the worst insulin I've ever used. I was originally put on NPH, then switched to Lente as a basal insulin 26 years ago. My BG and control was Excellent. I was forced into Lantus when the insulin manufacturers decided that the roughly 75,000 folks taking Lente and Untralente didn't produce enough profit to make it worth their while. I'm taking Lantus twice a day because it only lasts around 18 hours for me, and it definitely has a peak around 5 hours. I take all of this quite seriously as I'm not only a long standing person with diabetes, but also a nurse educator. I can't imagine how an insulin that is this difficult to work with has gotten such a strong foothold in the medical community - to the point of eliminating other insulin options that worked so well in the past. In one breath, we're told that 'every diabetic is an individual' and in the next we're all supposed to take one type of basal insulin and have it serve every need. Am wondering what the future holds for Detemir/Levemir?? There HAS to be another option on the horizon soon!

Report
5 Stars
Posted 154 months ago (1/15/2006)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

Diabetes/ Lantus injections Once you find what works for you, you will love Lantus. Each person is different, a friend of mine takes Lantus only once daily, but I have to take it twice daily, 20u, in the a m and 24u in the p m

Report
5 Stars
Posted 155 months ago (12/8/2005)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

Lantus - effective but takes some tweaking When I was first diagnosed it took a couple months to discover just how much Lantus I needed but it has turned out to serve me well. I cover my meals with Humalog and I do have to eat a little snack before bedtime to keep me from going low in the early morning, but the Lantus seems to carry me through a full 24 hours.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 157 months ago (11/2/2005)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IIReport

Mood swings with Lantus Well I love Lantus insulin let me just say. I began using it in 12/04. Since starting this medication I began having bad body acne, horrible mood swings, no sex drive and am extremely tired and hard to awake in the morning. It seems to take me hours to get motivated. I still want to try to switch back to my NPH (yuck) but I really do love using the Lantus. But the side effects are horrible (if the Lantus is causing them I mean). All these things began when I began using the Lantus. I am a 34F, diabetic for over 20yrs. I am glad I found this site with similar complaints on this medicine.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 157 months ago (10/19/2005)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

LANTUS = FREEDOM, but PUMP is better I used Lantus for a short period of time and found that it did not last a full 24 hours for me. It took approximately 1 week to figure out my downfall with that ... but I was training for pump therapy anyways. The best part of Lantus was that it was just a baseline and using humalog to cover the carbs, I did MUCH better than the peaks and valleys of NPH.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 157 months ago (10/13/2005)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IIReport

Lantus I like the fact that I have to take it only once a day, but it doesn't control my sugar and I am taking 65 units/day--and I don't know if this is a large dose or not.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 159 months ago (8/30/2005)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

2 injections a day I take 2 injections, one before breakfast and one before bed. Cost effectiveness is rated poor as I was originally on beef insulins for 43 years at /bottle. Lantus is /bottle and not as good control as the beef.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 159 months ago (8/29/2005)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IIReport

Lantus Lantus is good to help keep insulin levels even thru out the day with one injection. It is simple to use with disposable syringes although finding the correct dose can take some time and lots of testing. I have found it best for me to take my dose in the morning due to some low readings in the middle of the night when using it at night. I have also found that if I am dehydrated the injection site burns for a few seconds after injecting.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 160 months ago (8/6/2005)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IIReport

Lantus Use in conjunction with Novalog and now have the best control I have ever had.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 160 months ago (8/5/2005)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IIReport

Lantus I haven't had any problems so far.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 160 months ago (7/9/2005)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

Could it be Lantus? When I was first put on Lantus I thought it was the best thing since sliced bread. What!! just once a day, count your carbs and give Humalog at meals..lost 10lbs. 1st month..then the sore muscles creeped in..I became lethargic..confused..fatigued..sleepy all the time. So I went to the net to see if I could find out why..found this site and now I may have my answer. Oh and I gained the 10lbs. back and added 5 more. It`s been about 18 months now and my bg`s have improved but at what trade off?

Report
3 Stars
Posted 163 months ago (4/29/2005)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IIReport

Lantus rating average usefulness

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 168 months ago (12/5/2004)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

Lantus After trying to work with NPH for a few years, I asked my doc about Lantus, and it has made managing my son's diabetes so much easier.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 169 months ago (10/13/2004)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

Lantus insulin One injection for 24 hours is great. Blood sugar in the mornings is sometimes low, 60-70, and usually 80. Through the day, 100-120. Before bed and the shot, around 140. I've been on this medication since Sept. 2001.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 170 months ago (9/8/2004)

RatedLantusfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IReport

Lantus I dont really rate this Insulin highly, as I find in the mornings when I wake up, I do my first Blood Sugar test, and it's through the roof. So I will be hopefully changing to another.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: Tresiba Insulin Day 1 | Diabetes Daily Vlog 272

Lantus Reviews
Lantus Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Lantus Reviews pictures

Lantus Reviews recommendations
Lantus Reviews recommend photo

Lantus Reviews photo
Lantus Reviews images

Lantus Reviews Lantus Reviews new photo
Lantus Reviews new pictures

foto Lantus Reviews
photo Lantus Reviews

Watch Lantus Reviews video
Watch Lantus Reviews video

Forum on this topic: Lantus Reviews, lantus-reviews/
Discussion on this topic: Lantus Reviews, lantus-reviews/ , lantus-reviews/

Related News


How to Furnish Your First College Dorm or Apartment on a Budget
Jayne Torvill Confirms Dancing On Ice To Return
How to Gain Teaching Experience
HRT Cream Base
Measles Vaccine
How to Tell Someone They Have Bad Breath
Women’s make-up bags worth 57
Paroex Reviews
White House held meeting with Rob Porter, reporters on abuse scandal
How to Clean a Dirty CD
How to Win Back Friends After Offending Them
Womens U.S. Shoe Sizes in Inches
5 Ways to Reduce Stress With Psoriatic Arthritis
Why Maple Water is the New CoconutWater
How to Refresh Your Look



Date: 06.12.2018, 18:21 / Views: 74391